FCC Drone Exemptions 2026: Every Foreign Drone Approved Despite the Covered List
Since the FCC put foreign-made drones on its Covered List in December 2025, 19 foreign or foreign-built drone systems have received conditional approvals to be sold in the US, from SiFly’s Q12 in March to Italy’s Dronus K500L on 2 October 2026. None of them is from DJI or Autel. Each approval covers one named product, depends on a Pentagon or DHS security finding, and stays valid only while the company keeps to a plan to move production to the US.
This is the full list as of 15 October 2026, how the exemption process works, and what it means for anyone who already owns a DJI drone.
Quick answer
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| When did the ban start? | 22 December 2025, when the FCC added foreign-produced drones and critical components to the Covered List |
| Is my existing DJI drone illegal? | No. Models authorised before 22 December 2025 can still be owned, flown and sold |
| How many conditional approvals? | 19 as of 15 October 2026 (18 in the FCC’s 21 August list plus Dronus on 2 October) |
| Who decides? | The Department of War (Pentagon) or DHS finds no unacceptable risk; the FCC then publishes the exemption |
| Do approvals expire? | Not since 24 July 2026, as long as the company follows its onshoring plan and passes vetting |
| DJI or Autel approved? | No. Both are excluded from the blanket exemptions |
What the Covered List does
The Covered List is maintained by the FCC under the Secure Networks Act. Equipment on it cannot receive new FCC equipment authorisations, and without an authorisation a radio-transmitting device cannot be imported or marketed in the US. On 22 December 2025 the FCC’s Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau added all foreign-produced drones and their critical components, and named DJI and Autel specifically, one day after an interagency national security determination and a day before a deadline set by the FY2025 defence authorisation act, Iowa State’s Center for Agricultural Law and Taxation summarised.
Three points are often missed:
- Existing models stay legal. Anything authorised before 22 December 2025 can still be sold and flown.
- Updates continue. A waiver lets previously authorised devices keep receiving software updates until 1 January 2029; it was extended in May 2026.
- Some recent approvals were undone. Authorisations granted in the 30 days before the listing were set aside; Autel lost six.
We explain what you can still buy in can you still buy DJI in the US and keep a model-by-model list in which drones are banned in the US in 2026.
Two kinds of exemption
Blanket exemptions. Drones on the Pentagon’s Blue UAS Cleared List and “domestic end products” under Buy American rules were exempt until 1 January 2027; on 21 July 2026 that was extended to 1 January 2028, DroneLife reported. These blanket exemptions exclude all DJI and Autel products.
Conditional approvals. Everyone else applies to the Department of War or DHS. If that agency finds no unacceptable national security risk, the FCC exempts the named system by public notice. The FCC does not explain individual decisions, and approvals cover only the named product, not a company’s whole range. The first approvals were set to end on 31 December 2026, but FCC notice DA 26-768 of 24 July 2026 made them indefinite, provided the company follows its approved onshoring plan and its products pass updated vetting. Breaking the plan, or a finding of false statements, sends the product back onto the list. There is no published deadline for decisions.
Every drone approved so far
The table follows Appendix B of FCC notice DA 26-875 (21 August 2026) plus the Dronus approval of 2 October. Where the country of manufacture is not stated in the FCC notice or in reporting we could verify, we say so.
| # | Company | Product | Country | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SiFly Aviation | Q12 | Not stated | 17 Mar 2026 |
| 2 | Mobilicom | SkyHopper datalinks, controllers and software | Not stated | 17 Mar 2026 |
| 3 | ScoutDI | Scout 137 | Not stated | 17 Mar 2026 |
| 4 | Verge Aero | X1 (drone-show drone) | Not stated | 17 Mar 2026 |
| 5 | Sees.ai | v.USA 1.0 | Not stated | 14 Apr 2026 |
| 6 | Air6 Systems | AIR8 and AIR4 families | Austria | 6 May 2026 |
| 7 | Elevon Aerial | Z30, Z50, Z80 farm drones | Slovenia | 15 May 2026 |
| 8 | Blueflite | Cobalt 461 | Not stated | 26 May 2026 |
| 9 | Verity | Series 4 indoor inventory system | Not stated | 26 May 2026 |
| 10 | Air VEV | 120C, 060C | Israel | 26 May 2026 |
| 11 | Innovation First International | VEX AIR (education) | Texas-based company | 4 Jun 2026 |
| 12 | Flock Safety | Flock Alpha (police DFR) | US company | 12 Jun 2026 |
| 13 | ABZ Innovation | L50 spray drone | Hungary | 12 Jun 2026 |
| 14 | Real-Time Robotics | HERA Tactical | Not stated | 22 Jun 2026 |
| 15 | Ceres Air | C40, C31, C26, C20, C6 | Not stated | 22 Jun 2026 |
| 16 | Exedy Globalparts | Ayre CX | Not stated | 24 Jul 2026 |
| 17 | Parallel Flight Technologies | Firefly | US company | 24 Jul 2026 |
| 18 | Ascento | Guard Dori USA v1 | Switzerland | 21 Aug 2026 |
| 19 | Dronus | K500L drone and Nest V2 dock | Italy | 2 Oct 2026 |
Several approved companies are American. They still needed approval because the product or key parts are made abroad. The list leans heavily towards enterprise, agricultural and public-safety systems; no mass-market consumer camera drone has been approved through this route. Consumer brands still selling in the US, such as Insta360’s Antigravity and HoverAir, are doing so with models authorised before the cut-off; see who is taking DJI’s US share.
Other FCC rules that matter
The component rule
The FCC’s component rule bars new authorisations for devices that contain logic-bearing hardware, such as chips and boards, made by a named covered company like DJI or Autel, even if the device is assembled in the US. Online marketplaces must also show a valid FCC ID, from 1 March 2027 for their own stock and from 1 June 2027 for third-party listings. Details are in our component rule explainer.
The proposed “military-grade” rule
A public notice of 21 July 2026 proposes stopping the import and marketing of previously authorised foreign drones that are “military-grade”: those weighing 55 lb or more, able to drop hazardous materials, fitted with thermal cameras or LiDAR, docking stations, systems designed for defence articles, and swarming systems. Comments were due on 2 September, and law firm Pillsbury noted the rule would take effect 180 days after publication. Owners could keep drones they already have.
The 29 October votes
On 29 October the FCC votes on two drone-relevant items: ending recognition of mainland-China test labs by 1 December 2028 (they tested 82% of devices seeking FCC approval in 2025), and opening 50 MHz of 800 MHz cellular spectrum to drones. We cover both in our preview of the 29 October vote.
The court cases
DJI v. FCC. DJI sued in the Ninth Circuit on 20 February 2026. In May the court refused the FCC’s request to dismiss but paused the case while the FCC considers DJI’s reconsideration petition. DJI’s opening brief is due on 2 November 2026; DJI has claimed $1.56 billion in 2026 losses and 25 blocked products, DroneXL reported. See our DJI court tracker.
Hikvision v. FCC. In a separate case at the D.C. Circuit, Hikvision argues the FCC lacks authority to take away existing equipment authorisations on security grounds. At oral argument in early October, judges did not seem persuaded, Law360 reported. The ruling matters for drones because the military-grade proposal relies on similar authority to restrict products that were already approved.
Autel. Two applications for review are pending at the FCC with no decision.
What it means for buyers
- Your current drone, DJI included, remains legal to fly, and firmware updates continue until at least 2029.
- Stock of authorised DJI models is finite; prices and availability will keep shifting.
- New foreign consumer drones are unlikely to reach US shelves soon unless their makers commit to US production.
- If you buy online, check the FCC ID; from 2027 marketplaces must display it.
DJI models still authorised for US sale
Authorised before the cut-off; under 249 g with a 4K gimbal camera.
1/1.3-inch sensor, up to 38 minutes of flight.
As an Amazon Associate, Drone Ranker earns from qualifying purchases. We do not quote prices because Amazon’s change by the hour.
Frequently asked questions
Is my DJI drone illegal now?
No. Drones authorised before 22 December 2025 can still be owned and flown, and they can receive software updates until 1 January 2029.
Can stores still sell DJI drones?
Yes, for models authorised before 22 December 2025. New DJI models cannot get FCC authorisation.
Which foreign drones are approved despite the Covered List?
Nineteen systems as of 15 October 2026, from SiFly’s Q12 to the Dronus K500L. None is from DJI or Autel.
Who decides FCC drone exemptions?
The Department of War or DHS assesses the security risk, and the FCC’s Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau then publishes the exemption.
Do FCC conditional approvals expire?
Not since 24 July 2026, as long as the company follows its US onshoring plan and passes updated vetting.
Can a US-built drone use DJI parts?
Not for new authorisations, under the FCC’s component rule on logic-bearing hardware from covered companies.
What happens on 29 October 2026?
The FCC votes on phasing out China-based test labs by 1 December 2028 and on opening 50 MHz of 800 MHz spectrum to drones.
Cover photo: FCC meeting room, January 2015. Photo: Federal Communications Commission (public domain).
Product links on this page are Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through them, Drone Ranker may earn a commission at no cost to you. We compare drones from manufacturer specifications and filings, not hands-on flight tests.
Sources
- FCC DA 26-875: Covered List exemptions, Appendix B (21 August 2026)
- FCC DA 26-768: conditional approvals made indefinite (24 July 2026)
- FCC: Covered List
- Iowa State CALT: Foreign-made UAS stay on FCC Covered List (updated 8 October 2026)
- DroneLife: First conditional approvals (20 March 2026)
- DroneLife: Blueflite, Verity, Air VEV approvals (27 May 2026)
- DroneLife: Conditional approvals and onshoring framework (27 July 2026)
- DroneLife: FCC exemption for Dronus K500L (5 October 2026)
- Pillsbury: FCC proposal on military-grade foreign drones
- DroneXL: FCC vote would shut out Chinese test labs (10 October 2026)
- Law360: D.C. Circuit wary of Hikvision appeal (October 2026)
Sources
Primary references used for factual claims in this article.
The Friday Brief
One email a week on what changed in drones
FCC and FAA rule changes, DJI leaks checked against filings, and the week’s new comparisons. Every Friday, nothing else.
Free. Unsubscribe in one click. Sent with Kit; see our privacy policy.
Follow us on Google too: add Drone Ranker as a preferred source →